Frequently Asked Questions


1. What is Project Greenwich?

Project Greenwich is a research project run by the Microsoft Research Socio-Digital Systems group. The long-term goal of this work is to understand how being able to compile multimedia content in the form of timelines can support organisation, understanding, creativity and self-expression.

Project Greenwich offers an online service, which enables people to build timelines out of their own content, as well as that which can be discovered through Wikipedia. These timelines can be shared with others or kept private. Shared timelines form a common resource for all users of the service, which can be viewed and compared with one’s own timelines.

Please contact us on greenwich@microsoft.com with any feedback on the service.
 
2. Are there any requirements for using Project Greenwich?

You will need to use a browser that is compatible with HTML 5 to run the site. These include the latest versions of Microsoft Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari and Opera.

You will need a Facebook account to log in.
 
3. How do I make a timeline?

You can create a timeline by clicking on ‘New Timeline’ at the top of the page when you are logged in. This will allow you to name your timeline and specify a date range.
 
4. How do I add content to a timeline?

When looking at a timeline, you can add items by clicking on the ‘Add Items’ link at the top of the page. You can choose to add images, text or content from Wikipedia. You can add images that are saved on your own computer or that are already online.
 
5. Are there restrictions on the type of content I can import or display?

You can include text on your timelines and you can import images. You should only upload content if you have the right to display it online, in accordance with the Terms of Use.
 
6. How do I share my timelines?

You can only share timelines that are not marked as private.  Public timelines can be shared on Facebook or Flickr. When viewing a timeline that you wish to share, click on the ‘Share’ icons at the top right of the page.
 
7. How can I keep my timelines private?

Timelines are public by default. You can set your timelines to private by unchecking the ‘Timeline is public’ box when you create them.
 
8. How do I combine my timelines?

You can create ‘combined timelines’ out of two existing timelines. When viewing a timeline, click on ‘Combine’ at the top of the page. You will then be able to select the timeline that you want to combine with. Doing so will produce a timeline that displays content from both, which will be stored on your home screen.  
 
9. What are favourites?

Favourites are a feature that is coming soon. If you mark a timeline as a favourite, it will be listed on your home page when you log in. This makes it easy for you to find and view them.
 
10. How do I sign in?

We use Facebook’s authentication service to sign into the site. This means that you need to have a Facebook account to use Project Greenwich, and you will need your Facebook username and password to log in.
 
11. I have concerns about something I’ve seen on the site. What can I do?

If you believe that something that is displayed on Project Greenwich represents a copyright infringement, please see the Notice and Procedure for Making Claims of Copyright Infringement at www.microsoft.com/info/cpyrtInfrg.htm.
If you are concerned about anything that you have seen on the site for any other reason please contact us immediately on greenwich@microsoft.com, providing as much detail as possible and particularly any links to the content that is causing you concern. Your report will be considered in light of the Terms of Use for Project Greenwich. 
 
12. What will Microsoft do with my information?

Information collected is primarily intended for providing the Project Greenwich service, including authenticating users, allowing the creation and sharing of timelines, and facilitating the inclusion of material in the timelines. Anonymised records of usage will be kept to support research into use of Project Greenwich. These anonymised records of activity will include the fact that content has been deleted, but not the content itself. You can read our full Privacy statement on this site.